Today I was reminded about how many folks either do not know we are in a drought on this Island, or, believe that their grass needs to be green or, their water systems have not been turned off!

However, I was shocked to see a park in Fernwood watering grass!  What the “F”?

Here are photo’s on Chambers and Grant, just down from Vic High, and, to note: I tried to turn it off but was unable, that is how upset this made me: Its mid day, hottest part of day, it’s going over the sidewalk and, its teaching our kids that we do not care about our future.

IMG_2386 IMG_2387

IMG_2388 IMG_2389

IMG_2390

Here I was riding and I found this at a Social Housing Site in which I know great folks work and manage it, happens to be the one I am moving into.  I realised some watering systems need to be reset!  Its upsetting to me to see grass get watered when WE ARE in a drought .  Let it be brown, water flowers and gardens, that is what is beautiful!

IMG_2391 IMG_2392

IMG_2393 IMG_2394 IMG_2395 IMG_2396

IMG_2397

To clarify: Do not water at the hottest time of day, especially when we are in a drought on this Island, a level 4 drought IS STILL A DROUGHT and many of us would like to see the City of Victoria take steps NOW and create an emergency bylaw which states to Stop Watering Lawns; Garden Watering Only and Not at Peak Times.

The City of Victoria can poster the region; as well they can get the work out to all print media, radio and TV news outlets.

With all due respect,

Kym A. Hines

