I am a visitor in Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh Territories.  I was born in Red River Cree Territory and am both a settler Acadian and Metis.

We all got here at different times, me I got in at noon as I took ferry over yesterday and hung with close family friends and did we ever have a great reunion! Hey Emma, Scott and Solomon!  Thanks.

I arrived, got set up quickly and finished art, my creative political representation of the situation around me. Did some art, what do you think of the four walls for my house?

IMG_1703 IMG_1705

IMG_1709 IMG_1710

IMG_1711

Feel pretty good about art head afternoon so,  I went out to find a new card for camera. I got soaked and found out many many Vancouverites have no idea about there City, in this part of town anyways.

I was lucky to bump into a buddy from Victoria, can you believe Kira and Marika helped me find a London Drugs.

IMG_1700

I bumped into Kira before London Drugs and, low and behold, again at Carnegie, I was able to introduce Kira to Trish, Lived Experience bottom liner!

IMG_1698

Thanks Trish for helping taking care of us.  Smooth road so far.

I was happy to meet some visitors from afar and DTES, including board members and volunteers.  We were welcomed in a beautiful empowering way, thank you so much, we heard an old Chief Dan George song as welcoming, powerful!  We are visitors in Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations:  Thank you for the love, the stories, your strength as a community is an example for us all.  Here are two volunteers, the woman who cooked, it was her birthday and I sadly can’t find where I wrote down hers and the fellow on far right’s names! DOH!  He is a board member and welcomed us with a big heart, I appreciated their hearts showing, so proud fo home, Carnegie saves lives, we need one in Viktoria to be sure, we have NOTHING like it currently.  ANother Leonard also came in from Victoria thru Greater Victoria Coalition To End Homelessness  and I came vis a vis Committee To End Homelessness Victoria, great to hang out and get to know each other, looking forward to more.  We were all spread out visitors and locals.  Really had a great time, met visitors from Regina, Calgary, Winnipeg, Toronto, some spot in Quebec I cannot spell, sorry, and other spots in Ontario!

IMG_1694 IMG_1695

IMG_1696

IMG_1697

This woman right above invited us all to Showcase Event within the Heart of the City Festival, a DTES special.   DTES Front and Centre: 0 Muses, light my fire!  WIth Corinthian Clark, Joyce Morgan, a dynamic QUartet Firekeeper and the WIld Mares with Angela ZenkGeetha Subramaniyam and Justina Vanovcan.   Also Shannon Bauman and Twin Bandit, Hannah WAlker and Jamie Elliot!  The uplifting finale is Dalannah Gail Bowen with bass man Owen Owen Owen.

Wow, hope folk shave a blast, I am in room writing and about to crash and have a sleep, tomorow is a busy day and, if today is any example of what tomorow may bring, I am happy to be meeting with so many experiential folks and more coming tomorow as well as networking with the many more housed of folks I know form here and there, some of which I may not have seen in 20 years! 🙂

On that note, nice meeting you all, see you tomorow!
kym hothead hines

Watch our CTEHV film on our channell:

Transform Homelessness Advocacy Watch on VIMEO

